NFL Commish Roger Goodell Has the Power to Send the Saints to the Super Bowl Over the Blown Call . . . But He Won’t
There is an obscure rule on the books that would give NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell the power to change the outcome of the Rams / Saints game and send New Orleans to the Super Bowl, over the botched pass interference call.
Rule 17, Section 2, Article 1 says: “The Commissioner has the sole authority to investigate and take . . . corrective measures . . . [if any] calamity occurs in an NFL game, which the Commissioner deems so extraordinarily unfair or outside the accepted tactics . . . that such action has a major effect on the result of the game.”
Article 3 adds, “The Commissioner’s powers include: The reversal of a game’s result, or the rescheduling of a game, either from the beginning, or from the point at which the extraordinary act occurred.”
Of course, this isn’t happening, even though Saints coach Sean Payton says the officials told him they blew the call . . . and Rams defender Nickell Robey-Coleman admitted he committed pass interference because he was beaten on the play.
Saints fans are still FUMING about the no-call, including Harry Connick, Jr., who called the officiating “disgraceful,” and said he’s so sickened that he’s boycotting the Super Bowl.
He’s calling for booth-review on “outcome-altering” plays, and some others are demanding that as well.
The NFL will reportedly discuss . . . again . . . the possibility of making calls reviewable with coaches’ challenges in the offseason. That would’ve made this obvious call correctable, but it might open a big can of worms for most judgement calls . . . where there’s a lot of gray area.
The officials still struggle to define exactly what a ‘catch’ is. So imagine how long the game would be stopped while they determine how much ‘contact’ is too much.
Speaking of New Orleans, the front page headline in the city’s “Times – Picayune” was: “Reffing Unbelievable.”
Reffing Unbelievable. Today’s Times-Picayune front page takes no prisoners.#WhoDat #NewOrleans #Saints pic.twitter.com/yohP2G7FRH
— NOLA.com Saints News (@SaintsNOW) January 21, 2019
Was thinking yesterday that perhaps TV made the blantant non-called pass interference more clear to see. Nope, it was impossible to miss from any angle (via @drew_benitez) pic.twitter.com/f66Rj6i50N
— Darren Rovell (@darrenrovell) January 21, 2019