Camp Fire 2013 Wohelo Luncheon

Mar 6, 2013 11:45am - 1:00pm


Tie between youth programs and healthy neighborhoods is focus of 2013 Wohelo Luncheon   

Camp Fire NCW will celebrate service to North Central Washington’s youngsters and teens at the 2013 Wohelo Luncheon on Wednesday, March 6, at the Wenatchee Center.

The program includes announcement of the 2013 Trail Blazer Award recipient, which honors community members who have given sustained service to youth. Past Trail Blazer Award winners will also be recognized.

Speakers from the city of Wenatchee, Allison Williams who is executive services director, and Steve King, who directs community and economic development, will talk about work being done to understand the factors that are important in cultivating healthy and prosperous communities. Strong communities are found to provide support for children and teens.

The luncheon is 11:45 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Wenatchee Center on Wednesday, March 6. The cost of lunch is covered by sponsors so that all donations at the event can go to Camp Fire’s club and after-school programs in Chelan, Douglas, Grant, Okanogan and parts of Adams counties and to outdoor experiences at its Camp Zanika Lache  at Lake Wenatchee.

More information and reservations are available by calling (509) 663-1609.

"Wohelo" (pronounced “Woe-He-Low”) stands for Work, Health, and Love—values that are central to Camp Fire. The Wohelo Award is the highest achievement for youth in Camp Fire. This prestigious award, for teens in grades 9 through 12, offers opportunities for personal development, leadership, and advocacy on important issues.

NCW Camp Fire’s annual Wohelo Luncheon is one of the council’s main fundraisers. 


For more information please contact NCW Camp Fire’s Executive Director Theresa Samuelson at (509) 663-1609 or

Previous Trail Blazer Award winners:

2012 – Caryl Morrell; 2011 – Susan Ballinger; 2010 – Mary Kile; 2009 – Doug Head; 2008 – Wilfred Woods; 2007 – Dan Jackson and Sue Lawson; 2006 – Margaret Soland; 2005 – Renee Hunter; 2004 – Jim Huffman; 2003 – Dora Trevino; 2002 – Bill Asplund.



Copyright © KKRV-FM. All Rights Reserved. Website by Triton Digital Media